FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Class of 2012



User avatar

Posts: 11051

Images: 0

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:06 pm

Post Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:31 pm

Class of 2012

Class of 2012 Inductees:

Cale Yarborough
William Caleb Yarborough was the first driver to win three consecutive NASCAR premier series championships, from 1976-78. During his three-year dominance, Yarborough won 28 races  nine in 1976, nine in '77 and 10 in '78. His final championship points margin in those three years was never fewer than 195 points and was as much as 474 in 1978. Yarborough totaled 83 victories in his 31-year career, which ranks sixth all-time. His 69 poles rank fourth all-time. He also won the Daytona 500 four times (1968, '77, '83-84), a mark that ranks second only to Richard Petty's seven. He was named one of NASCAR's 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998.

Darrell Waltrip
A three-time NASCAR premier series champion (1981-82, '85), Waltrip won all three with legendary driver/owner Junior Johnson. Waltrip is tied with Bobby Allison and Jeff Gordon for third all-time in series victories with 84. His 59 poles rank fifth all-time in NASCAR premier series history. He competed from 1972-2000, which included a 1989 Daytona 500 victory in a Rick Hendrick-owned Chevrolet. He currently is a commentator on FOX's NASCAR broadcasts. He was named one of NASCAR's 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998.

Dale Inman
Dale Inman, NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty's crew chief at Petty Enterprises for nearly three decades, set records for most wins (193) and championships (eight) by a crew chief. Inman won seven of those championships with Petty (1964, '67, '71, '72, '74, '75 and '79), and a final one in 1984 with Terry Labonte.

Richie Evans
The recognized "king" of Modified racing, Evans captured nine NASCAR Modified titles in a 13-year span, including eight in a row from 1978-85. In the first year of the current NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour format in 1985, Evans won 12 races, including a sweep of all four events at Thompson, Conn. Evans ranked No. 1 in the 2003 voting of the NASCAR All-Time Modified Top 10 Drivers, and he was named one of NASCAR's 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998.

Glen Wood
Glen Wood laid the foundation for the famed Wood Brothers racing team as a driver in NASCAR's premier series. Competing on a semi-regular basis, mostly at tracks close to his southern Virginia home, Wood won four times  all at Bowman-Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C. Wood, of course, is best known for his collaboration with brothers Leonard and Delano in Wood Brothers Racing. The Stuart, Va.-based team, which dates to 1950 and remains active, has amassed 98 victories.
I miss you Frehley........


Posts: 312


Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:16 pm

Post Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:52 pm

Re: Class of 2012

SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH if you are quiet and listen very carefully, no matter where you are you will here it.......... PSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHH I can here it can you? Can you hear the sound D.W's head getting bigger?
"He makes me look thinner" Tony on why he picked Ryan to be his team mate. bet he's gonna enjoy his fair share of Krissie's cookies every weekend lol


User avatar

Posts: 13035

Images: 3

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:44 am

Location: Tampa, FL

Post Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: Class of 2012

It will probably be more difficult for DW to fit through a doorway. ;) :lol:

Glad to see Glen Wood voted in. :D
Image Always A Racer - Forever A Champion Image

Daytona 500 countdown


User avatar

Posts: 3694


Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:26 pm

Post Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:33 pm

Re: Class of 2012

Perhaps it's a good thing to get D Dubya in soon so in five or so years he won't remind everyone every 5 seconds on his broadcasts that he has 3 championships plus the Hall of Fame. Do I really care? No, he cares enough for everybody.
The Military Thanks You For Standing Behind Them. If You Can't Do that You Can Always Stand In Front Of Them.....Think About It.....

Thank you to those who took a step forward to save the rest who stand still.


Posts: 99


Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:02 am

Post Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:39 am

Re: Class of 2012

I want The Mouth of the South shut, and somewhere else, like the Cartoon Channel. I'm tired of his bitchin', moanin', whinin' crap. There are still drivers on the nomination list that should be in the HOF before DW, and should have been in before Earnhardt.
"Where there's Smoke, There's Racin'!"

Return to NASCAR & Racing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

stewart haas logo footer

Terms of Use  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us
Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.
Approved by Tony Stewart & Gene Haas