Post Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:25 pm

Vote for Sprint All-Star race begins March 23

Vote for Sprint All-Star race begins March 23

By Kenny BruceTuesday, March 22, 2011
Wood Brothers still sponsorless for Richmond, Dover, All-Star race
Sprint All-Star race has wild west theme, but no format changesRace fans can help determine the final transfer spot for the upcoming Sprint All-Star Race when the Sprint Fan Vote begins at 12:01 a.m. Wednesday.

Fans may vote multiple times, and as in the past, votes cast on Sprint and Nextel handsets will count double toward an individual driver’s total.

To be eligible, a driver must finish on the lead lap in the Sprint Showdown qualifying race, which precedes the all-star race, and with a car in “raceable” condition as determined by NASCAR officials.

The annual all-star race is scheduled for May 21 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Voting will end at 5 p.m., prior to the start of the Sprint Showdown.

“The positive response we’ve received around the Sprint Fan Vote has been overwhelming,” Tim Considine, director of sports marketing for Sprint, said. “Passionate NASCAR fans cast a record 1.5 million votes last year, making the [vote] a crucial element of what we feel is the most fan-friendly all-star event in all of sports.”

Sprint customers can vote using the NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile application on their Sprint or Nextel devices. To download the NASCAR Sprint Cup Mobile app, Sprint customers should text "NASCAR" to 7777.

Customers can also vote by texting “VOTE” to 7777 on their Sprint or Nextel devices (standard text messaging and data rates apply). Doing so will direct the caller to a link where fans may select the driver of their choice.

Kasey Kahne (Red Bull Racing) in 2008 became the first driver to win the all-star race after being voted into the event via the fan vote.

“It was a real honor to win the fan vote last year,” Carl Edwards said. “You look up at that grandstand and see all the people who helped get you in the race and it’s very humbling. It definitely motivated me to do a better job for them in the race.”

The Roush Fenway Racing driver was involved in a late crash and finished 21st in last year’s event.

In addition to the fan vote, the drivers finishing first and second in the Showdown will transfer into the all-star race.

Drivers already eligible for the all-star race are Trevor Bayne, Greg Biffle, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer, Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Mark Martin, Jamie McMurray, Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Newman, David Reutimann and Tony Stewart.

To be eligible, a driver must have won since the start of the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season, be a previous all-star race winner in the last 10 years or former Sprint Cup champion in the last 10 years.
Those who intentionally live off another’s labor will always want more free stuff!