Races, tracks, drivers and all the drama that comes along with it
Post a reply

Sprint Unlimited (Bud Shootout)

Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:40 am

Feburary 16,2013 7:00 pm

Entry List:

Greg Biffle
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Carl Edwards
Denny Hamlin
Kasey Kahne
Mark Martin
Jeff Gordon
Martin Truex Jr.
Tony Stewart
AJ Allmendinger
Aric Almirola
Joey Logano
Marcos Ambrose
Jimmie Johnson
Matt Kenseth
Kyle Busch
Juan Pablo Montoya

Past champions of The Sprint Unlimited:

Kurt Busch
Kevin Harvick
Bill Elliott
Terry Labonte
Ken Schrader

Re: Sprint Unlimited (Bud Shootout)

Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:38 pm

It will ALWAYS be the Shootout. Maybe not the "bud" shoot out, but it will always be "The Shootout"!

Re: Sprint Unlimited (Bud Shootout)

Wed Feb 06, 2013 10:32 am

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- NASCAR and Sprint confirmed today that fans will have a direct impact on several competition elements of the newly titled The Sprint Unlimited At Daytona, the 75-lap non-points race that opens the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season.

Fans will play an integral part in how the fan-favorite race unfolds on Saturday, Feb. 16 (8 p.m. ET, FOX, FOX Deportes, Motor Racing Network Radio and SiriusXM Satellite Radio) at Daytona International Speedway. By casting their vote, fans are invited to design several competition aspects of the preseason event, including:

-        The number of laps in each segment

-        The type of pit stop a team makes after the first segment

-        How many cars will be eliminated after the second segment 

Sprint Cup Series kick-off

Fans decide: Vote on format


Votes can be cast on NASCAR’s new official mobile app -- NASCAR Mobile ’13 -- or at NASCAR.com/SprintUnlimited. All votes made through the NASCAR Mobile ’13 app will count twice.

“We are excited to provide our fan base this first-of-its-kind opportunity to directly be involved in determining the race’s format and in-race decisions,” said Robin Pemberton, NASCAR vice president of competition. “By allowing our fans this type of interaction, it is our hope that more fans will be tuned in to the event than ever before.”  

The voting window for the race format will close on Wednesday, Feb. 13 at 11:59 p.m. ET. The voting windows for the pit stop and elimination will close at various times throughout the race broadcast. Vote results will be relayed to teams during each segment and announced live on the FOX race broadcast.

“Giving fans such a strong voice in the design of the race is a fitting way to launch our 10th season in the sport,” said Steve Gaffney, Sprint vice president of corporate marketing. “We are giving them the ultimate access to the sport, the decision-making power to sculpt the type of race they want to see. With today’s technology, they can make these decisions in real time as the race is happening.”

“Sprint has been a great partner for the sport and I applaud them for developing new and innovative ways to give the race fans an unprecedented role in The Sprint Unlimited,” said Joie Chitwood III, Daytona International Speedway president. “We have some of the most passionate and knowledgeable fans in sports and I’m looking forward to seeing the choices they make and how it will impact this exciting star-studded event.”

Fan voting categories include:

Length of each of the three race segments:

Choice A: 40 laps, 20 laps, 15 laps

Choice B: 35 laps, 30 laps, 10 laps

Choice C: 30 laps, 25 laps, 20 laps

*Race format voting ends at 11:59 p.m. EST on Wednesday, Feb. 13.


Team pit stop after the first segment:

Choice A: No pit stop

Choice B: Two (2) tire change

Choice C: Four (4) tire change

*Pit stop voting concludes at the green flag of the first segment.

How many cars will be eliminated after the second segment:

Choice A: None (0)

Choice B: Two (2) cars eliminated

Choice C: Four (4) cars eliminated

Choice D: Six (6) cars eliminated

*Elimination voting concludes at the green flag of the first segment.

Fans are encouraged to follow @NASCAR and @MissSprintCup on Twitter to engage in the #SprintUnlimited conversation throughout the voting window.
Here is the format for voting for the Shootout scenario.......and you can vote on this at the NEW NASCAR website.......that is if you can figure it out! :roll:

Re: Sprint Unlimited (Bud Shootout)

Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:09 pm

Confused... Shouldn't Ryan be on the past champions list? Didn't he win the 50th running of the Daytona 500?

Re: Sprint Unlimited (Bud Shootout)

Wed Feb 06, 2013 7:35 pm

I think it has to be a past winner of the Shootout, but I could be wrong... :shock:

Re: Sprint Unlimited (Bud Shootout)

Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:45 pm

Rochelle wrote:I think it has to be a past winner of the Shootout, but I could be wrong... :shock:
You are right! 8-) At least that was the way it was last year........ :)

Re: Sprint Unlimited (Bud Shootout)

Thu Feb 07, 2013 4:08 pm

Thanks guys.
Post a reply