Races, tracks, drivers and all the drama that comes along with it
Post a reply

Class of 2012

Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:31 pm

Class of 2012 Inductees:

Cale Yarborough
William Caleb Yarborough was the first driver to win three consecutive NASCAR premier series championships, from 1976-78. During his three-year dominance, Yarborough won 28 races  nine in 1976, nine in '77 and 10 in '78. His final championship points margin in those three years was never fewer than 195 points and was as much as 474 in 1978. Yarborough totaled 83 victories in his 31-year career, which ranks sixth all-time. His 69 poles rank fourth all-time. He also won the Daytona 500 four times (1968, '77, '83-84), a mark that ranks second only to Richard Petty's seven. He was named one of NASCAR's 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998.

Darrell Waltrip
A three-time NASCAR premier series champion (1981-82, '85), Waltrip won all three with legendary driver/owner Junior Johnson. Waltrip is tied with Bobby Allison and Jeff Gordon for third all-time in series victories with 84. His 59 poles rank fifth all-time in NASCAR premier series history. He competed from 1972-2000, which included a 1989 Daytona 500 victory in a Rick Hendrick-owned Chevrolet. He currently is a commentator on FOX's NASCAR broadcasts. He was named one of NASCAR's 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998.

Dale Inman
Dale Inman, NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty's crew chief at Petty Enterprises for nearly three decades, set records for most wins (193) and championships (eight) by a crew chief. Inman won seven of those championships with Petty (1964, '67, '71, '72, '74, '75 and '79), and a final one in 1984 with Terry Labonte.

Richie Evans
The recognized "king" of Modified racing, Evans captured nine NASCAR Modified titles in a 13-year span, including eight in a row from 1978-85. In the first year of the current NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour format in 1985, Evans won 12 races, including a sweep of all four events at Thompson, Conn. Evans ranked No. 1 in the 2003 voting of the NASCAR All-Time Modified Top 10 Drivers, and he was named one of NASCAR's 50 Greatest Drivers in 1998.

Glen Wood
Glen Wood laid the foundation for the famed Wood Brothers racing team as a driver in NASCAR's premier series. Competing on a semi-regular basis, mostly at tracks close to his southern Virginia home, Wood won four times  all at Bowman-Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, N.C. Wood, of course, is best known for his collaboration with brothers Leonard and Delano in Wood Brothers Racing. The Stuart, Va.-based team, which dates to 1950 and remains active, has amassed 98 victories.

Re: Class of 2012

Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:52 pm

SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH if you are quiet and listen very carefully, no matter where you are you will here it.......... PSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHH I can here it can you? Can you hear the sound D.W's head getting bigger?

Re: Class of 2012

Tue Jun 14, 2011 6:54 pm

It will probably be more difficult for DW to fit through a doorway. ;) :lol:

Glad to see Glen Wood voted in. :D

Re: Class of 2012

Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:33 pm

Perhaps it's a good thing to get D Dubya in soon so in five or so years he won't remind everyone every 5 seconds on his broadcasts that he has 3 championships plus the Hall of Fame. Do I really care? No, he cares enough for everybody.

Re: Class of 2012

Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:39 am

I want The Mouth of the South shut, and somewhere else, like the Cartoon Channel. I'm tired of his bitchin', moanin', whinin' crap. There are still drivers on the nomination list that should be in the HOF before DW, and should have been in before Earnhardt.
Post a reply