Post Mon Aug 18, 2014 2:51 pm

Ernie Cope to the #9 NNS team

Cope to become Elliott's crew chief next season UPDATE: Hearing that JR Motorsports will name Ernie Cope as crew chief for #9-Chase Elliott next season. Elliott's current crew chief, Greg Ives, has been named Dale Earnhardt, Jr's crew chief for 2015.(8-18-2014)
UPDATE: JR Motorsports announced that it will pull from within to fill its impending crew chief vacancy, as Ernie Cope will transition from the #5 team to Chase Elliott's #9 NAPA Aupt Parts team at the conclusion of this season. Cope will take over for Greg Ives. Last month it was announced that Ives would be Steve Letarte's successor on the #88 Hendrick Motorsports team in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. Ives and Cope will finish out the year in their respective roles. Ives and Elliott currently lead the NASCAR Nationwide Series standings by 10 points over teammate Regan Smith with 11 races to go. A crew chief for the #5 team in 2015 is not yet determined. Earnhardt Miller said the company will conduct a thorough search and take as much time as necessary to find the best candidate.(JR Motorsports)(8-18-2014)